Local Electoral Area Boundary Committees - Committee 1

Roscommon

That the revised local electoral boundary shall ensure that in the case of Roscommon that a local electoral area shall be designed around the urban centre of Roscommon County Town and encompass the surrounding villages and rural hinterland thus taking account of local and community identities and linkages.

Please see attached a map showing Roscommon County Town and its radius of linkage.

These linkages include shopping, services including doctors and dentists, Garda Station, hospital, local schools, after school activities, sports, Library.

At present people in the surrounding areas of Athleague DED, Fuerty, Castlecoote, Kilbegnet and Donamon continue to frequent Roscommon Town for all of the above. However they do not have ease of access to their Municipal District Office. The Roscommon Municipal District is a few minutes drive away however the Athlone Municipal District office is 40 minutes drive away. No other area in the County is so removed from an area office which is ironic considering it is just minutes from the Roscommon Municipal district. The Roscommon MD has an area office in Roscommon and Castlerea. The Boyle MD has an area office in Boyle and Ballaghaderren and Strokestown. And the Athlone MD has one area office in Monksland. The structure is not servicing the people of Athleague, Fuerty, Castlecoote, Rosmoylan and Donamon. The simple solution is to reconnect them electorally with their local town, the County Town, Roscommon.

Roscommon Town Team is working very effectively servicing Roscommon Town and surrounding areas however it is not connected to Athleague, Fuerty, Castlecoote, Rosmoylan and Donamon as they are in the Athlone MD and their closest Town Team is in Monksland (40 minutes away). Roscommon Town Team can apply to Roscommon County Council for the Municipal District funding scheme

These areas around Roscommon Town formed part of the Roscommon Electoral Area prior to the revision of the Local Electoral Area Boundary 2013 which resulted in people living 1 or 2 miles outside the town aligned to the Athlone MD with the Urban centre of Monksland.

At present the physicality of the Athlone Municipal District is unwieldy spreading as it does from Shannonbridge to Derryhippo

The areas of Knockcroghery, Ballymurray, Portrun, Kilteevan, Ballyleague, Four-mile-House form part of the Roscommon MD (Roscommon engineering area) and are working well under the current structure.

That Roscommon Town be reconnected to the villages adjoining the Town to the west which were severed from the town in 2013 Boundary Commission.

At present residents living less that a mile from the town are being served by the Athlone MD with its municipal base in Monksland (40 minute drive away)... historically the villages surrounding the town namely Athleague, Fuerty, Castlecoote, Rosmoylan and Donamon have been served by the area office in Roscommon Town. In recent times prior to the 2013 Local Boundary review this area formed part of Mid Roscommon Electoral area which was formed by Roscommon Town and the villages surrounding it in all directions.

This could be done by:

Increasing Roscommon, Castlerea area to 7 seats

Increasing Boyle, Ballaghdreen area to 7 seats

And reducing the Athlone area to 4 seats

Yours sincerely,

Cllr. Domnick Connolly